By Way of Introduction…

Is it possible to put your passions and dreams first, and let the world fall in place behind them?

 

I don’t know the answer. I only have a gut feeling that it is, but it is the way I want to live, and I’m going to give it a try. The alternative stinks, so I’d rather fail at this than succeed at that.

 

Since before I can remember I have always been building something, drawing, making, playing, writing, dreaming… it used to be constructing things out of blocks, furniture, toys, now it’s mostly via words and sounds, guitar and voice rather than water paints or lego, but to me the urge is the same.

 

“There is no delight in owning anything unshared.” – Seneca (Roman philosopher)

 

I get the feeling that there are other people out there who have similar questions I do. I believe thoughts and ideas are meant to be shared, fed back to you via other people so that you can see their true shape. Like bouncing a basketball off a backboard – how it comes back to you can show you the way you are putting it out there. Thus you can change it for the better, and I’m all about getting better.

 

I’m going to be writing about creativity and how my endeavors relate to this. I will be posting my thoughts and ideas, things I have learnt or am trying to figure out. I’m not here to give anyone advice necessarily or tell people what to do, just to tell stories and speak my mind. This is all about exploring and keeping creativity flowing.

 

I’d love to hear passionate, compassionate, well-thought out responses to anything I’ve written. If you agree, disagree, or have anything to share then the comments section is open. I always make time to listen to what others have to say whether I agree or not.

 

I hope you get something out of my blog.

 

Thank you for reading.

 

Gideon K

4 Responses to “By Way of Introduction…”

  1. Looking forward to your musings buddy

  2. Great introduction. Love your Seneca quote and unabashed optimism. I too look forward to sincerity and honest/creative expression from you here. I hope it is not too narcissistic or presumptuous of me to suppose that you may have been slightly prompted to begin this blog by having read mine recently? If so, then I am honoured. I am subscribing to yours now and will link to you via my page. 🙂

  3. Thanks to both of you.

    Ophelia (would you like me to call you that?) I wish I could turn on my revisionist historian mode and credit you entirely with the inspiration behind this blog.

    I’m afraid however, that particular honour belongs to my friend Sasha, who turned me on to a great book about blogging called ‘Crush It’ by Gary Vaynerchuk. Check it out.

    I do love your page though, so hopefully that is some consolation. 😉

  4. It is more than enough consolation. Thanks, lovely. And, no, you don’t have to call me Ophelia (unless you want to): The Ophelia Complex is a pseudo-psychological term for ‘feminine’ anxiety concerning one’s place in the world. It is a pretentious blog title, but, hey, I make no excuses for my pretentiousness! It is what it is. 🙂

    I shall certainly check out ‘Crush It’ also.

    Loving your blog so far.

Leave a Reply

