Do You Remember the First Time?

Do you remember writing your first song you felt happy with?

I must’ve been a late starter. My first fully formed song that I was comfortable enough to play only came when I was 17.

It was a lazily hot afternoon. I was supposed to be in my room studying for my school end of year exams, but my guitar was standing against the wall leering seductively at me. My cheap, sticker covered, black and white Encore strat copy, making silent promises…

My first serious girlfriend

Happily and naively I picked it up, plugging into the amp and instinctively started playing these two chords – clean first, and then I kicked on the distortion and the hairs all over my teenage head stood up.

I started singing a melody on top, and words came out. I just kept playing and then before I knew it I had me a song. Magic.

I call music the bittersweet curse. When you write something and you’re all alone and you go “Ahh!” Just know that the second that feeling is over, you’re doomed to face it again and do it again. It’s never over. That’s why I love it, because it’s so mean to me.” – Josh Homme

I’d been coming up with riffs, chord sequences and ideas before this, and taping them on a little cassette player. Likewise with lyrics, scribbling down bits of lines, phrases and some awful early attempts at songs and poems.

This time however, it all came together. I don’t know why. All I know is that everything felt different.

You know that bit in Inception, where the girl has gone into the dream world for the first time? One of them says she’ll come back – because reality just won’t be enough anymore.

I felt alive in a way I never had before. Every time I’m writing and I feel like I’ve finished something, it’s a similar feeling, but never the same – a blessing and a curse.

Needless to say my school revision for the rest of the day went out the window…

So what’s the story of your first “Aah!” moment?

3 Responses to “Do You Remember the First Time?”

  1. I guess the first song i was totally happy with that I wrote was 3 good things. I cant quite remember how it came about musically, but lyrically it was based on something i once heard about how you get through the day. You just have to think of 3 good things that happened that day and forget everything else. It’s good advice but hard for me to put into practise sometimes as i dwell on things too much.

  2. Well I don’t really consider myself a musician, even though I have been intensely teaching myself music production during the last few months – the goal has always been to understand music on a more technical level rather than a “musical” level, whilst learning music theory at the same time – not sure if that makes sense.

    I guess that “ahhhh” feeling came when I wrote my first melody on my first track Mariwan and then turning it into a full track, the track itself turned out quite average in the end but it was just re-affirming to myself that I can learn this and not buy into that “natural talent” bollocks which I’ve always hated since I was a kid. I’m still pretty far from where I want to be quality wise, but at the same time feel like I’ve come a long way in a short amount of time considering I literally started from scratch and had to learn basic chords a few months ago. So more music theory and knowledge about harmonies etc is needed as of now.

    And I agree, this shit is as addictive as women with fat arses x

  3. […] views this year: 1 ‘Art is Work’ 2 Top Ten Alternative Queens 3 The Sound of Modern Music 4 Do You Remember the First Time? 5 Why Don’t You […]

Leave a Reply

