Lip Service

There’s something I have to confess. It’s been bugging me a bit since I started this blog.

I wonder if writing (a blog) about creativity just a way of avoiding actually BEING creative, doing creative things – am I just paying lip service to being creative?

The main thing fuelling this concern is the idea that for every amount of time spent writing a blog post or thinking about a subject related to this, I could and maybe should be spending that time songwriting.

Or more pressingly on some days I concern myself on whether I spend more time talking abut creativity than doing it – not my style

“Between saying and doing many a pair of shoes is worn out.”  – Italian Proverb

If I talk about something, I tend to eventually get it done.

Whether there is something to this way of thought or not, I doubt it’s healthy. The idea that one always has to be doing something constructive, and feeling guilty otherwise – is destructive.

It doesn’t work for me either. Forcing it too much actually stops it from flowing strongly, naturally and freely. It Strangles it. Also neglects other aspects.

For me all the work is in order to create a suitable apparatus for the goods to flow. Setting up a row of dominoes so that you can watch the whole sweep down in a swift wave and enjoy the ride.

This doesn’t really answer my initial question, or does it?

Writing the blog neither adds nor subtracts from my other writing. It’s just additional motion to contend with. It keeps my mind focused on these questions and constantly evaluating my progress output and technique etc.

I also think these doubts or concerns are mostly head noise and the only way to find out anything for yourself is just to do what you feel you should and see where it takes you.
“After all is said and done, a lot more will have been said than done.”  ~Author Unknown


2 Responses to “Lip Service”

  1. Hey there, I just hopped over to your site thru StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would normally browse, but I appreciated your thoughts none the less. Thanks for creating some thing well worth reading.

  2. Hey there. That’s quite alright, we welcome all walks here so long as they have something positive to contribute.
    Thanks for your comment and thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

