What The People May Say…

As I mentioned in my last post, I’ve hardly been writing the past month besides the scribbling of ideas and fiddling around with loose verses etc and instead have been focusing on making use of the backlog of somewhat orphaned and homeless songs I’ve built up.

 

This morning I was thinking about a certain song of mine and how in the chorus I rhyme ‘dance’ with ‘chance’, but not the ‘Southern way’ – I phrase it so that it rhymes with ‘romance’.

 

This made me laugh a little to myself. Why?

 

It reminded me of an early experience in primary school. In North West London, people speak in a certain way, saying bath as if it was spelt ‘barth’. Both my parents are from ‘up north’ so we grew up in a house saying it without the ‘r’.

 

Anyway, in school somewhere around the age of 4, when reading out loud or putting my hand up to ‘ask’ a question, I spoke with a northern inflection and the WHOLE class, teacher included turned around to correct me on my phrasing and speech.

 

“It’s ARSK, not ASK!!”

 

My immediate reaction was – “No, it’s not”. Some innate part of me knew that they were all silly.

 

I wondered if there would be more situations like this in life.

 

In that moment, at age 4, I could see a gap between the place they were all coming from, and the world I saw, where one can say things however they damn well want, and all forms were acceptable.

 

Of course, I couldn’t have put it in to words like that then, but that seed stayed with me.

 

Two decades on, I’m sure you all know that these encounters never end, and if it’s not one thing it’s another.

 

Going back to that song, I guess I figured that

  • a) people might question or make an issue about my phrasing
  • b) It makes no difference whatsoever.

 

It’s the same now as it was then and always will be – people will try to correct you to make you more like them and less like yourself.

 

But you don’t need to take any action around it, just laugh and stay on course.

 

“If life has taught me anything it’s that 95% of the people are always wrong.” – Jack Nicholson, The Bucket List

 

The world is bigger, richer and more diverse than the school classroom.

 

Vive la difference.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

